Moderators can use breakout rooms to divide participants into smaller groups during video meetings. Breakout rooms must be started by moderators during a video call on a computer.



Instructions for moderators and organizers


  1. While in an active meeting, click on the 'Breakout' button in the top menu.
  2. Choose the number of breakout rooms you want to open and select if you want to automatically or manually assign participants and click 'Next'.


  3. Drag and drop participants between rooms, add additional rooms, edit room names, and click 'OPEN ALL ROOMS'.

  4. As a moderator, you can come to this window at any time to join any of the breakout rooms that have been opened by clicking the 'JOIN' button next to each room.

  5. To close the breakout rooms, click 'breakout' and select 'Close all rooms'. All participants will be notified that the rooms are about to close and after 30 seconds, all breakout rooms will automatically close and participants will be returned to the main meeting room.




Instructions for web participants


  1. When you have been assigned to a breakout room, you will see a message at the top of your screen. Click 'Join' to connect to your assigned breakout room.

  2. While in the breakout room, you can return to the main meeting room at any time by clicking 'Return to main meeting'.


  3. When the moderator closes breakout rooms, you will see a warning message at the top of your screen indicating the breakout room is about to close with an option to return to the main meeting. You will automatically be returned to the main meeting room after the breakout rooms are closed.




Instructions for phone participants


  1. When you have been assigned to a breakout room, you will hear a message telling you that you have been assigned to a breakout room. Tap *3 to go to the breakout room. After 60 seconds you will be automatically  sent to the breakout room if you do not press *3.

  2. While in the breakout room, you can return to the main meeting room at any time by tapping *3.

  3. When the moderator closes the breakout rooms, you will hear a message and can return to the main meeting room by pressing *3. You will otherwise be automatically returned to the main  meeting room after the breakout rooms are closed.